Article Image Alt Text

This is a mask approved by North Vermilion High administration.

Vermilion Parish School board will let students wear school names, logos on their face mask

The Vermilion Parish School Board is now leaving it up to the principals of each school, to decide on what type of face mask is acceptable or not acceptable to worn by students.
Last week the school board created a new mask policy that will let students and staff wear face coverings that contain references to the school system (i.e., name or insignia) or individual schools within the system (i.e., name or mascot), which are approved by the principals.
However, the face mask or face covering still has to be solid with only the school name, logo or mascot written on it.

Article Image Alt Text

Maurice Man Killed in Single-Vehicle Crash in St. Landry Parish

ST. LANDRY PARISH – At approximately 9:30 p.m. on August 13, 2020, Troopers from Louisiana State Police Troop I were notified of a single-vehicle crash on LA Hwy 10 near LA Hwy 182 in St. Landry Parish.
The crash took the life of 45-year-old Daniel Scott Palmer of Maurice.
The initial investigation by State Police revealed that the crash occurred as Palmer was driving a 1999 Lexus L47 SUV westbound on LA 10 when, for unknown reasons, he failed to negotiate a left curve. Upon doing so, the Lexus exited the roadway and struck an embankment of a small canal.

Article Image Alt Text

New Vermilion Parish Superintendent Tommy Byler (left) checks his temperature by placing his wrist in front of a sensor before entering the school board meeting room. Maintenance Supervisor Kerry Richard points to another sensor where Byler could place his forehead to check his temperature. Each school will have a “SafeCheck” like this one at the front of their school. Every student and staff will have to walk through it before going into the school building.

All public schools in Vermilion Parish will have temperature devices to walk through

At Monday night’s Vermilion Parish School Board meeting, board members had to walk through what looked like a metal detector before entering the meeting room. It was a detector, but it was not looking for metal, it was reading the body temperature of all of the board members.
Because of COVID-19, the school district purchased at least 20 “SafeCheck” systems, which screens individuals as young as three years old.

Article Image Alt Text

Abbeville's finances holding steady through first half of 2020

For the past several years, Abbeville officials have made it a common practice to hold a meeting to review the city’s finances after the first six months of the year.
In 2020, the first half of the year has looked anything but common.
Still, even amid the COVID-19 pandemic, there are some aspects of the financial report that mirror past years. Steven Moosa, a CPA with Darnall, Sikes & Frederick, updated the City Council during a finance committee meeting on Aug. 4.
“We look at the first six months in a year,” Moosa said, “to get an idea of where we are running.”



Vermilion Today

Abbeville Meridional

318 N. Main St.
Abbeville, LA 70510
Phone: 337-893-4223
Fax: 337-898-9022

The Kaplan Herald

219 North Cushing Avenue
Kaplan, LA 70548

The Gueydan Journal

311 Main Street
Gueydan, LA 70542