Erath’s Matt Domingues

Erath’s Jax Harrington

Kaplan’s Quintlan Cobb

Three parish players on Class 3A All-State team: Two Erath players, Kaplan’s Cobb

Landing on the Louisiana Sports Writers Class 3A All State Team has happened in the past for Kaplan High School and Erath High School. But the 2018 Class 3A All-State Team will go down as something special for Erath High.
This year the school had two players make the Class 3A All-State First Team. In years past if EHS got one all-stater, the school is doing great, but to get two from a team that finished the regular season 4-7 is special.
Landing on the team are Erath wide receiver Matt Domingues and offensive lineman Jax Harrington. Domingues had 1,333 yards receiving and he caught 74 passes.
The other parish player to land on the all-state team is Kaplan defensive lineman Quintlan Cobb. He had 52 total tackles which included 14 sacks, two forced fumbles and two fumble recoveries.
Eunice waited over three decades to hoist another state championship trophy. University High Lab captured the ultimate prize in Division II Louisiana prep football while playing with a target on its back all season.
Both champions from Class 3A placed a combined nine representatives on the Louisiana Sports Writers Association’s 2018 All-State team. Class 3A runner-up Sterlington and Iota, which began the playoffs as the no. 1 seed in the nonselect bracket, each had three players on the team.
Running back Michael Hollins (157 carries, 1,648 yards, 33 touchdowns) was voted the Outstanding Offensive Player. Joining Hollins on the first team were U-High teammates John Gordon McKernan (123-of-185, 1,929 yards, 27 touchdowns) at quarterback, offensive lineman Mark Coppola, defensive lineman Jaquelin Roy (42.5 tackles, 3.5 sacks, two interceptions), Jacob Burke (111 tackles, six sacks, three interceptions) at linebacker, Jordan Clark (44 tackles, four interceptions) in the defensive backfield and kick returner Christian Harris (503 return yards, three touchdowns).
The Cubs captured back-to-back Division II championships, going undefeated for the second consecutive season – 26 straight wins -- against a schedule that featured Class 5A state champion Zachary and Division I runner-up Catholic-Baton Rouge.
Avrey Lee, a two-way standout for Eunice, was voted Outstanding Defensive Player after making 101 tackles at linebacker. Defensive back Carlin Vigers (109 tackles, seven pass breakups, four interceptions) also made the team for the Class 3A state champions.
Eunice’s Paul Trosclair led the Bobcats to their first state title since 1982 and claimed Coach of the Year honors.

LSWA Class 3A All-State Football Team

WR Matt Domingues, Erath 6-0 180 Sr.
WR Davion Sanders, Green Oaks 6-0 150 Sr.
WR Jalen Jones, Union Parish 6-1 180 Sr.
OL Trey Rugg, Sterlington 6-2 240 Sr.
OL Mark Coppola, University 6-0 235 Sr.
OL Evan Roussel St,. Charles Catholic 6-1 265 Jr.
OL Juwan Felix, Iota 6-2 294 Sr.
OL Jax Harrington, Erath 6-4 280 Sr.
QB John Gordon, McKernan University 6-1 190 Sr.
RB Dallas Reagor ,Sterlington 5-10 185 Jr.
RB Mike Hollins, University 5-11 210 Sr.
RB Luke Doucet, Iota 5-8 202 Jr.
ATH Shamar Smith, St. James 6-0 175 Jr.
PK Danior Ballesteros, KIPP Renaissance 5-9 150 So.

DL JaColon Pitre,Lake Charles Prep 6-0 270 Sr.
DL Jaquelin Roy, University 6-4 310 Jr.
DL Mason Narcisse ,St. Charles Catholic 6-3 285 Jr.
DL Quintlan Cobb, Kaplan 6-6 309 Sr.
LB Avery Lee, Eunice 5-9 195 Sr.
LB Jacob Burke, University 6-0 190 Sr.
LB Jared Singleton, Union Parish 5-7 180 Sr.
LB Tayte Langley, Iota 6-2 234 Sr.
DB Trey Eddins,Sterlington 6-1 185 Sr.
DB Cameron O’Brien, Hannan 6-0 175 Sr.
DB Jordan Clark, University 5-11 175 Sr.
DB Carlin Vigers, Eunice 6-3 180 Sr.
KR Christian Harris, University 6-3 230 Sr.
P Jacob Gaude, Hannan 6-3 205 Sr.




Savion Jones, St. James; Arum Joseph, St. James; Barrett Hover, Berwick; Dylan Rathcke, University; Doryan Harris, University; Willie Holloway, Sterlington; Brock Risinger, Sterlington; Jake Fowler, Sumner; Orenthal Lewis, Lake Charles Prep; Dylan Vincent, Lake Charles Prep; Carrington McClinton, Washington-Marion; Colby Hollier, South Beauregard; JJ Ross, Westlake; Justin Parrish, Albany; Sam Drouhilet, St. Louis; Gabe Rankins, Lake Charles Prep; Glen Johnson, Lake Charles Prep; Tavius Bryant, Caldwell Parish; Dillon Cage, Baker; Khiry Morrison, West Feliciana; John Williams, Loyola; Scottie Johnson, North Webster; Rapheus Joseph, Crowley; Tyler Darbonne, Eunice; Rovell Carter, Green Oaks; Aaron Boyette, Jena; Noah Devlin, De La Salle; Michael Lotief, Kaplan; Josh Jones, Berwick; Trelon Jones, Jena; Drake Abshire, Kaplan; Malik Criner, North Vermilion; Dillon Simon, Lake Charles Prep; Keith Baker, Green Oaks; Jacob Allen, Loyola; Montaze Sam, Northwest; Andrew Kilpatrick, St. Louis; Dajon Richard, Patterson; Thomas Miles, Peabody; Mekhi Hammond, Northwest; Shaun Todd, Jena; Jacoby Collins, Wossman; Gavin Laird, Marksville; Chester Martin, Sumner; Cameron Lee, Sumner; Donald Berniard, University; Tony Gibson, Church Point; Caleb Brown, St. James; Cole Jones, Sterlington; Troy Dangerfield, Jena; Jake Fontenot, Sumner; Tavonn Alexander, Lake Charles Prep; Alec D’Antoni, Loyola; Bryton Constantin, University; Logan Roy, Kaplan; Richard Scott, Avoyelles; Kenneth Harris, Caldwell Parish; Shane Bradford, Lake Charles Prep.

Vermilion Today

Abbeville Meridional

318 N. Main St.
Abbeville, LA 70510
Phone: 337-893-4223
Fax: 337-898-9022

The Kaplan Herald

219 North Cushing Avenue
Kaplan, LA 70548

The Gueydan Journal

311 Main Street
Gueydan, LA 70542